When to identify individuals and confirm the existence of entities – Life insurance companies, brokers and agents

June 2017

This guidance on client identification is applicable to life insurance companies, brokers and agents that are subject to the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA) and associated Regulations.

Details on how to identify individuals and confirm the existence of entities is available in FINTRAC’s guidance Methods to identify individuals and confirm the existence of entities.

Throughout this guidance, references to dollar amounts (such as $10,000) are in Canadian dollars. Furthermore, all references to cash mean money in circulation in any country (bank notes or coins) and do not include cheques, money orders or other similar negotiable instruments.

The Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Regulations (PCMLTFR) specify when you must identify an individual or confirm the existence of an entity, and how you must do this. The point at which you identify a client will vary depending on the activity or transaction that is carried out. Knowing your client includes identifying them in accordance with the Regulations, but you also have further obligations in this regard, such as requirements related to the ongoing monitoring of business relationships, the determination of politically exposed persons or heads of international organizations, beneficial ownership, and third party determination.

Identifying clients

As a life insurance company, broker or independent agent, you must identify individuals and confirm the existence of entities for certain activities and transactions, as listed below. Entities can be corporations, trusts, partnerships, funds, and unincorporated associations or organizations.

When you have to confirm the existence of an entity that is a corporation, you also have to verify its name and address, and the names of its directors.

The formation of a business relationship and the ensuing obligations are tied to your requirements to identify clients. For non-account-based relationships, you are considered to be in a business relationship with every individual you have had to identify at least twice, and with every entity whose existence you have had to confirm at least twice. If you have not identified an individual or confirmed the existence of an entity because an exception applied, you are still considered to be in a business relationship and must conduct ongoing monitoring and keep certain records.

You are also required to take reasonable measures to determine if a client is acting on the instruction of a third party when creating a client information record or conducting a large cash transaction. In this case, reasonable measures may include asking the individual, or relying on information you already have about the individual. If you determine that the individual in front of you is acting on someone else's instructions, that “someone else” is the third party.

As a life insurance company, broker or independent agent, you are responsible for identifying clients for:

  1. Client information records

  2. Group plans

  3. Large cash transactions

  4. Suspicious transactions

**Note: Exceptions to your client identification requirements are listed in the last section of this guidance.

1. Client information records

You are required to identify an individual who conducts the purchase of an immediate or deferred annuity or a life insurance policy that costs $10,000 or more over the duration of the annuity or policy, regardless of how it is paid for. If the purchase has been made on behalf of a third party, you must identify the person who conducts the purchase but the client information record must be created for the applicant of that life insurance policy or annuity. The conductor must be identified within 30 days of creating this record.

You must confirm the existence of an entity within 30 days of creating a client information record.

You must identify the conductor in the purchase of a group life insurance policy or group annuity but the client information record must be kept for the applicant of the policy or annuity.

2. Group plans

You must identify individual members of a group plan when they make a contribution to the plan, if:

3. Large cash transactions

You must identify every individual who conducts a large cash transaction at the time the transaction takes place. A large cash transaction occurs when you receive $10,000 or more in cash in a single transaction. A large cash transaction also occurs when there are multiple cash transactions of less than $10,000 each that total $10,000 or more within a 24-hour period, when you know they are conducted by, or on behalf of, the same individual or entity.

4. Suspicious transactions

You must take reasonable measures to identify an individual who conducts or attempts to conduct a suspicious transaction before sending a Suspicious Transaction Report. Reasonable measures in this case may include asking the individual to provide photo identification.

All suspicious transactions and attempted suspicious transactions, including transactions that are normally exempt from client identification requirements, require you to take reasonable measures to identify your clients.

Keeping client identification information up to date

You must update client information at a frequency that will vary based on your risk assessment. As a part of your ongoing monitoring requirements, you must keep all client identification information up to date. High-risk clients’ identification information must be updated more frequently, and you must take any other appropriate enhanced measures.

To keep client identification information up to date, you must take measures such as asking the client to provide information to confirm or update their identification information. In the case of an individual, this may include confirming or updating the information by using the options that are available to identify individuals who are not physically present.

In the case of clients that are entities, measures to keep client identification information up to date may include consulting a paper or electronic record, or obtaining information verbally.

Exceptions

You do not have to re-identify an individual or re-confirm the existence of an entity if you previously did so using the methods specified in the Regulations in place at the time and kept the associated records, so long as you have no doubts about the information used.

There are specific exceptions that apply to your requirement to identify clients. You do not have to identify an individual or confirm the existence of an entity in respect of one of the following:

If the corporation for which you have to keep a client information record is a securities dealer, you do not have to verify the names of the corporation’s directors.

In the case of a group plan, you do not have to identify individual members of the plan if the member’s contributions are made by the sponsor of the plan or by payroll deduction, and you have already confirmed the existence of the entity that is the plan sponsor.

If you conduct a transaction for a public body or very large corporation, you do not have to identify them. The same is true regarding a subsidiary of either of those types of entities, if the financial statements of the subsidiary are consolidated with those of the public body or very large corporation.

You do not have to identify the individual who conducts a large cash transaction if the cash is received from a financial entity or public body.

You do not have to identify an individual if you have reasonable grounds to believe that another life insurance company, broker or agent identified the individual in accordance with the Regulations, for the same transaction or a transaction that is part of a series of transactions that includes the original transaction.

You do not have to identify a client if you deal in reinsurance. However, this does not apply to suspicious transactions.

You do not have to take reasonable measures to identify the individual who conducts or attempts to conduct a suspicious transaction only if:

Date Modified:

À quel moment vérifier l’identité des personnes et confirmer l’existence des entités – Sociétés d’assurance-vie et représentants d’assurance-vie

Juin 2017

La présente directive sur la vérification de l’identité des clients s’applique aux sociétés d’assurance-vie et aux représentants d’assurance-vie assujettis à la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (la Loi) et aux règlements connexes.

Vous pouvez obtenir d’autres informations sur la façon de vérifier l’identité des personnes et de confirmer l’existence des entités dans la directive de CANAFE intitulée Méthodes pour vérifier l’identité des personnes et confirmer l’existence des entités.

Lorsqu’il est question de montants en dollars (par exemple 10 000 $) dans la présente directive, il s’agit de montants en dollars canadiens. De plus, on entend par espèces de l’argent comptant en circulation dans un pays donné (billets de banque ou monnaie) et non des chèques, des mandats-poste ou d’autres titres négociables semblables.

Le Règlement sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (le Règlement) précise à quel moment vous devez vérifier l’identité d’une personne ou confirmer l’existence d’une entité et comment vous devez le faire. Le moment où vous devez vérifier l’identité d’un client variera selon l’activité ou l’opération effectuée par votre client. Pour bien connaître votre client, vous devez vérifier son identité conformément au Règlement, en plus de respecter les obligations s’appliquant au contrôle continu des relations d’affaires, à la détermination quant aux personnes politiquement vulnérables ou aux dirigeants d’une organisation internationale, aux bénéficiaires effectifs et aux tiers.

Vérification de l’identité des clients

À titre de société d’assurance-vie ou de représentant d’assurance-vie, vous devez vérifier l’identité d’une personne et confirmer l’existence d’une entité dans le cadre de certaines activités et opérations, lesquelles sont énumérées ci-après. On entend par entité une personne morale, une fiducie, une société de personnes ou un fonds, et une association ou une organisation non dotée de la personne morale.

Lorsque vous devez confirmer l’existence d’une entité qui est une personne morale, vous devez aussi vérifier sa dénomination sociale et son adresse, ainsi que les noms de ses administrateurs.

L’établissement d’une relation d’affaires et les obligations connexes sont liés aux exigences en matière de vérification de l’identité des clients. Pour les relations sans rapport avec un compte, vous établissez une relation d’affaires avec toute personne pour laquelle vous êtes tenu de vérifier l’identité au moins à deux reprises et avec toute entité pour laquelle vous êtes tenu de confirmer l’existence au moins à deux reprises. Si vous n’avez pas vérifié l’identité d’une personne ou confirmé l’existence d’une entité parce qu’une exception s’appliquait, vous êtes tout de même réputé avoir établi une relation d’affaires et devez effectuer un contrôle continu et conserver certains documents.

Vous devez aussi prendre des mesures raisonnables pour établir si le client agit selon les instructions d’un tiers lorsque vous créez un dossier-client ou effectuez une opération importante en espèces. Dans ce cas, les mesures raisonnables peuvent comprendre le fait de demander à la personne si elle agit pour le compte d’un tiers ou de vous fier aux renseignements que vous avez déjà à votre disposition à l’égard de la personne. Si vous déterminez que la personne en question agit selon les instructions d’une autre personne, cette « autre personne » est le tiers.

À titre de société d’assurance-vie ou de représentant d’assurance-vie, il vous incombe de vérifier l’identité des clients dans les cas suivants :

  1. dossiers-clients;

  2. régimes collectifs;

  3. opérations importantes en espèces;

  4. opérations douteuse.

**Remarque: La dernière partie de la présente directive contient une liste des exceptions s’appliquant à vos obligations en matière de vérification de l’identité des clients.

1. Dossiers-clients

Vous devez vérifier l’identité d’une personne qui achète une rente immédiate ou différée ou une police d’assurance-vie à l’égard de laquelle elle doit verser une somme de 10 000 $ ou plus pendant la période visée par la rente ou la police, quel que soit le mode de paiement. Si l’achat est effectué pour le compte d’un tiers, vous devez vérifier l’identité de la personne qui effectue l’achat, mais créer un dossier-client portant sur le proposant de la police d’assurance-vie ou de la rente. Vous devez vérifier l’identité de la personne dans les 30 jours suivant la constitution du dossier-client.

Vous devez confirmer l’existence d’une entité dans les 30 jours suivant la constitution du dossier-client.

Vous devez vérifier l’identité de la personne qui effectue l’achat d’une police d’assurance-vie collective ou d’un contrat de rente collective, mais créer un dossier-client portant sur le proposant de la police ou de la rente.

2. Régimes collectifs

Vous devez vérifier l’identité des membres d’un régime collectif qui versent une contribution au régime :

3. Opérations importantes en espèces

Vous devez vérifier l’identité de toute personne qui effectue une opération importante en espèces, et ce, au moment de l’opération. Une opération importante en espèces s’entend de la réception de 10 000 $ ou plus en espèces au cours d’une seule opération. Une opération importante en espèces s’entend également de plusieurs opérations en espèces de moins de 10 000 $ chacune, mais totalisant 10 000 $ ou plus au cours d’une période de 24 heures, lorsque vous savez qu’elles ont été effectuées par une seule personne ou entité ou pour son compte.

4. Opérations douteuses

Vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour vérifier l’identité d’une personne qui effectue ou tente d’effectuer une opération douteuse avant de soumettre une déclaration d’opérations douteuses. En pareil cas, les mesures raisonnables peuvent comprendre le fait de demander à la personne de fournir une pièce d’identité avec photo.

Vous devez prendre des mesures raisonnables pour vérifier l’identité de vos clients pour toutes les opérations douteuses et les tentatives d’opération douteuse, y compris les opérations pour lesquelles une exception aux exigences de vérification de l’identité des clients s’applique habituellement.

Tenue à jour des renseignements relatifs à l’identité du client 

La fréquence à laquelle vous mettrez à jour les renseignements sur le client dépendra de votre évaluation des risques. Dans le cadre de vos exigences en matière de contrôle continu, vous devez tenir à jour tous les renseignements relatifs à l’identité de vos clients. Vous devez mettre à jour plus souvent les renseignements relatifs à l’identité des clients présentant un risque élevé et prendre toute autre mesure accrue qui s’impose.

Pour mettre à jour les renseignements relatifs à l’identité des clients, vous devez prendre des mesures comme demander au client de fournir des renseignements pour confirmer ou mettre à jour ses renseignements d’identification. Dans le cas d’une personne, il peut s’agir de confirmer ou de mettre à jour les renseignements au moyen des méthodes mises à votre disposition pour vérifier l’identité d’une personne en l’absence de celle-ci.

Pour mettre à jour les renseignements relatifs aux clients qui sont des entités, vous pouvez, entre autres, consulter un document sur support papier ou électronique, ou obtenir les renseignements de vive voix.

Exceptions

Si vous avez déjà vérifié l’identité d’une personne ou confirmé l’existence d’une entité au moyen des méthodes énoncées dans le Règlement qui étaient en vigueur au moment où vous l’avez fait et que vous avez conservé les documents pertinents, vous n’êtes pas tenu de le faire de nouveau si vous n’avez aucun doute quant aux renseignements utilisés.

Des exceptions précises s’appliquent à votre obligation de vérifier l’identité des clients. Vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier l’identité d’une personne ou de confirmer l’existence d’une entité dans l’un ou l’autre des cas suivants :

Vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier les noms des administrateurs lorsque la personne morale pour laquelle vous devez conserver un dossier-client est un courtier en valeurs mobilières.

S’il s’agit d’un régime collectif, vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier l’identité d’un membre du régime si les contributions du membre sont versées par le promoteur du régime ou au moyen de retenues salariales, et vous avez déjà confirmé l’existence de l’entité qui est le promoteur du régime.

Vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier l’identité d’une personne ni de confirmer l’existence d’une entité si vous effectuez une opération pour un organisme public ou une personne morale dont l’actif est très important. Il en est de même pour une filiale de ce type d’entité, si les états financiers de la filiale et de l’organisme public ou de la personne morale dont l’actif est très important sont consolidés.

Vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier l’identité d’une personne qui effectue une opération importante en espèce lorsque vous recevez les fonds d’une entité financière ou d’un organisme public.

Vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier l’identité d’une personne si vous avez des motifs raisonnables de croire qu’une autre société d’assurance-vie ou qu’un autre représentant d’assurance-vie a déjà vérifié l’identité de la personne conformément au Règlement relativement à la même opération ou à une opération s’inscrivant dans une série d’opérations comprenant cette opération.

Vous n’êtes pas tenu de vérifier l’identité d’un client lorsque vous exercez des activités de réassurance. Toutefois, cela ne s’applique pas dans le cas d’une opération douteuse.

Vous n’êtes pas tenu de prendre de mesures raisonnables pour vérifier l’identité d’une personne qui effectue ou tente d’effectuer une opération douteuse uniquement si :

Date de modification :