How to apply

As Canada's internationally respected Financial Intelligence Unit, we have high expectations and high standards for our employees. Our selection process provides a thorough assessment of candidates, relying on a variety of tools to determine the right fit. Each step in the process is essential, and some may necessitate additional information or time. You can help by ensuring your application is clear, concise and complete, and that your participation in subsequent stages is honest, transparent and timely. The foundation of our relationship begins with this process.

Our selection process

Our process includes several important stages. The order may change based on the needs of a particular process. We continually optimize our approaches to enhance efficiency both for the organization, and for candidates.

Application: Our externally advertised job opportunities are posted on GC Jobs, and you must submit your application online through this system. This is your first opportunity to distinguish yourself from other candidates—remember to be clear and concise, and to address the qualifications in full.

Initial screening assessment: Your application is carefully reviewed against the qualifications of the position to verify elements such as education, experience, area of selection, language, and Canadian Citizenship. A short-list of candidates is selected for further consideration based on a combination of experience, career progression and achievements, and overall application presentation.

Qualification assessments: Depending upon the position or positions being staffed, a variety of assessments may be used to assess the essential and/or asset qualifications identified in the poster. These could include standardized or in-house tests administered online or in-person, interviews and/or reference checks.

Second language assessment (if applicable): Linguistic requirements are identified on the poster. Not all positions are designated bilingual and second language evaluations are not conducted for unilingual positions. If you are being considered for a bilingual position, we will arrange for you to complete the required testing through the Public Service Commission, unless you already have valid test results from the Commission.

Security and suitability assessments: To be considered for employment, candidates must be eligible for a Top Secret security clearance to our standards. Our process includes a suitability interview, a credit and financial check, fingerprinting, and a background investigation examining at least the last 10 years. Please see our Security and suitability requirements for details about the criteria and process.

Final assessment: The purpose of the final assessment is to determine which candidate or candidates most closely match the requirements of the position and the organization. A right fit interview may be conducted at this stage. Once the final assessment is complete, an offer is made to the selected candidate or candidates.

The length of time required to complete a process varies, depending on the number and types of positions to be filled, the number of candidates, the number of and time required for assessments, and the availability of the candidates.

Candidates may be eliminated from consideration at any stage if it is deemed that they do not meet the position qualifications. After the initial screening, only those candidates selected for further consideration will be contacted. All candidates who have been invited to participate in a subsequent test or interview will be notified of their results following the assessment.

Additional information for candidates

If this is your first experience applying for a position at FINTRAC or within the public service, the following information may help you prepare.

Essential qualifications: Essential qualifications are considered necessary to perform the work and must be met in order for you to be appointed to the position. They will be clearly identified on the poster and often include elements such as education, experience, competencies, abilities, skills and language requirements.

Asset qualifications: Asset qualifications may also be identified on the poster. They represent other types of education, experience, competencies, abilities or skills that may benefit the organization or enhance performance. It is not necessary for you to meet the asset qualifications to apply. However, it is in your interest to substantiate any qualifications that you do meet in your application as this can help you distinguish yourself from other candidates.

Employment equity and diversity: We are committed to building a skilled and diverse workforce that is reflective of Canadian society. We promote employment equity and encourage candidates to voluntarily self-identify if they are a woman, an Aboriginal person, a person with a disability, and/or a member of a visible minority group. For certain opportunities, selection may be limited to members of one or more of these employment equity groups.

Second language evaluations: There are three tests used to evaluate your second language skills: reading comprehension, written expression, and oral proficiency. The Public Service Commission website features valuable information to help you prepare. There are descriptions of the tests and proficiency levels, as well as self-assessments to give you an idea of what to expect.

Post-secondary degrees and diplomas from international institutions: We may recognize post-secondary degrees, diplomas or certificates from institutions outside Canada, providing you supply proof of Canadian equivalency. For more information on obtaining equivalencies, please visit the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials website.

Requests for accommodation: We are committed to inclusive, barrier-free selection processes and work environments. If you are contacted in relation to a job opportunity or assessment, please advise us in a timely fashion of any accommodation measures required to enable you to be assessed in a fair and equitable manner.

Withdrawal from a process: If you withdraw from a process, your application will no longer be considered. This will not impact on your ability to submit a new application for another process in the future.

If you have questions about your application for a specific position or for general inquiries, please send an email to jobs-emplois@fintrac-canafe.gc.ca.

Date Modified:

Comment postuler

À titre d'unité du renseignement financier du Canada respectée dans le monde entier, nous avons de grandes attentes et des normes de qualité élevées envers nos employés. Notre processus de sélection fournit une évaluation complète des candidats et nous utilisons une bonne variété d'outils pour trouver le bon candidat. Chaque étape de ce processus est essentielle, et certaines peuvent nécessiter des renseignements ou un délai supplémentaire. Vous pouvez faciliter le processus en veillant à ce que votre demande soit claire, concise et complète, et à ce que votre participation aux étapes ultérieures soit honnête, transparente et en temps opportun. Le fondement de notre relation débute par ce processus.

Notre processus de sélection

Notre processus comprend plusieurs étapes importantes. L'ordre peut être modifié selon les besoins d'un processus particulier. Nous optimisons constamment nos approches afin d'améliorer l'efficacité, et ce, autant pour notre organisation que pour nos candidats.

Demande : Nos offres d'emploi annoncées à l'externe sont publiées sur Emplois GC, et vous devez soumettre votre demande en ligne par l'intermédiaire de ce système. Cela est votre première occasion de vous démarquer des autres candidats. Rappelez-vous d'être clair et concis et de répondre pleinement aux qualifications.

Évaluation de présélection : Votre demande est attentivement examinée en fonction des qualifications du poste afin de vérifier des éléments tels que les études, l'expérience, la zone de sélection, la langue et la citoyenneté canadienne. Une courte liste de candidats retenus pour la prochaine étape du processus de sélection est établie sur la base d'une combinaison d'expérience, du cheminement professionnel, des réalisations et de la présentation générale de la demande.

Évaluations des qualifications : Selon le ou les postes à pourvoir, diverses évaluations peuvent être utilisées afin d'évaluer les qualifications essentielles ou les qualifications constituant un atout énoncées sur l'affiche. Cela peut comprendre des tests normalisés ou internes, en ligne ou en personne, des entrevues ou un contrôle des références.

Évaluation de la langue seconde (le cas échéant) : Les exigences linguistiques sont énoncées sur l'affiche. Les postes ne sont pas tous désignés comme bilingues et les évaluations de la langue seconde ne sont pas nécessaires dans le cas de postes unilingues. Si vous êtes pris en considération pour un poste bilingue, nous prendrons les mesures pour vous faire compléter l'évaluation par l'intermédiaire de la Commission de la fonction publique, à moins que vous ayez déjà des résultats valides de la part de la Commission.

Évaluations en matière de sécurité et d'admissibilité : Afin d'être pris en considération pour un emploi, les candidats doivent être admissibles à l'autorisation de sécurité « Très secret » selon les normes de CANAFE. Notre processus comprend une entrevue d'admissibilité, une vérification du dossier de crédit et du dossier financier, une prise d'empreintes digitales et une enquête sur les antécédents couvrant au minimum les dix dernières années. Veuillez consulter nos exigences en matière de sécurité et d'admissibilité pour plus de détails à propos des critères et du processus.

Évaluation finale : L'objectif de l'évaluation finale est de déterminer le ou les candidats qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences du poste et de l'organisation. À cette étape, une entrevue pour trouver la bonne personne peut être menée. Une fois l'évaluation finale réalisée, une offre est faite au candidat ou aux candidats sélectionnés.

La durée requise pour achever un processus peut varier selon le nombre et le type de postes à pourvoir, le nombre de candidats, le nombre d'évaluations et le temps requis pour les mener et la disponibilité des candidats.

Les candidats peuvent être rejetés à toute étape du processus, s'il est jugé qu'ils ne possèdent pas les qualifications du poste . Après la présélection, seuls les candidats dont la candidature est retenue seront contactés pour la prochaine étape du processus de sélection. Tous les candidats qui ont été invités à participer à un test ou une entrevue seront informés de leurs résultats à la suite de l'évaluation.

Renseignements supplémentaires à l'intention des candidats

Si c'est la première fois que vous postulez à un poste à CANAFE ou dans la fonction publique, les renseignements suivants peuvent vous aider à vous préparer.

Qualifications essentielles : Les qualifications essentielles sont considérées comme nécessaires pour effectuer le travail et elles doivent être respectées pour que vous soyez nommé au poste en question. Elles seront clairement énoncées sur l'affiche et elles comprennent souvent des éléments tels que les études, l'expérience, les compétences, les habiletés et les exigences linguistiques.

Qualifications constituant un atout : Les qualifications constituant un atout peuvent également être énoncées sur l'affiche. Elles représentent d'autres types d'études, d'expérience, de compétences et d'habiletés qui seraient profitables pour l'organisation ou qui permettraient d'améliorer le rendement. Il n'est pas nécessaire de respecter les qualifications constituant un atout pour poser votre candidature. Toutefois, il est dans votre intérêt de démontrer dans votre demande toutes les qualifications que vous possédez puisque cela pourrait vous démarquer des autres candidats.

Équité en matière d'emploi et diversité : Nous sommes déterminés à constituer un effectif compétent, diversifié et représentatif de la société canadienne. Nous favorisons l'équité en matière d'emploi et encourageons les femmes, les Autochtones, les personnes handicapées et les membres d'une minorité visible à s'identifier comme tels. À certaines occasions, la sélection pourrait être limitée aux membres d'un ou de plusieurs de ces groupes visés par l'équité en matière d'emploi.

Évaluations de langue seconde : Il existe trois tests afin d'évaluer les compétences en langue seconde, c'est-à-dire les tests de compréhension de l'écrit, d'expression écrite et de compétence orale. Le site Web de la Commission de la fonction publique met de nombreuses ressources à votre disposition pour vous aider à vous préparer. Le site comprend des descriptions des tests et des niveaux de compétences linguistiques, en plus d'offrir des tests d'autoévaluation pour vous donner un aperçu de ce à quoi vous attendre.

Diplômes d'études postsecondaires et autres diplômes décernés par des établissements situés à l'étranger : Nous pouvons reconnaître les diplômes d'études postsecondaires, les autres diplômes ou les certificats décernés par des établissements situés à l'extérieur du Canada, à la condition de fournir une preuve de l'équivalence canadienne. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'obtention d'équivalences, veuillez consulter le site Web du Centre d'information canadien sur les diplômes internationaux.

Demandes de mesures d'adaptation : Nous sommes engagés à instaurer des processus et un milieu de travail inclusifs et exempts d'obstacles. Si l'on communique avec vous au sujet d'une possibilité d'emploi ou pour une évaluation, veuillez, en temps opportun, nous informer de tous vos besoins pour lesquels des mesures d'adaptation doivent être prises afin de vous permettre de bénéficier d'une évaluation juste et équitable.

Retrait du processus : Si vous vous retirez d'un processus, votre candidature ne sera plus considérée. Cela ne portera pas atteinte à votre possibilité future de soumettre une nouvelle demande dans le cadre d'un autre processus.

Pour toute question concernant votre candidature à un poste donné ou pour des renseignements généraux, veuillez envoyer un courriel à jobs-emplois@fintrac-canafe.gc.ca.

Date de modification :